Consider

Juvenile Fiction

Science Fiction/ Fantasy

Available: April 19, 2016 | ISBN 9781631630583 | paperback | 288 pages | 5.5 in. x 8.25 in. | World (translation, audiobook, media rights) | $14.99 US (trade paperback), $8.99 US (e-book)
  • indiebound
  • shop amazon
  • shop bn
  • Read on Tapas

Consider

The Holo Series, BOOK 1 OF 2

by Kristy Acevedo

To order, select your favorite retailer from the list below or contact us.

Mysterious holograms are appearing across the world, claiming to be from the future and warning of a coming apocalypse: what would you do? For seventeen-year-old Alexandra Lucas, the whole world may depend on her answer.

As if 17-year-old Alexandra Lucas’ anxiety disorder isn’t enough, mysterious holograms suddenly appear, heralding the end of the world. They bring an ultimatum: heed the warning and step through a portal-like vertex to safety, or stay and be destroyed by a comet that is on a collision course with Earth. The holograms,claiming to be humans from the future, bring the promise of safety. But without the ability to verify their story, Alex is forced to consider what is best for her friends, her family, and herself.

To stay or to go. A decision must be made.

With the deadline of the holograms’ prophecy fast approaching, Alex feels as though she is living on a ticking time bomb, until she discovers it is much, much worse.

Praise/Reviews

Nominee for the 2017 Philip K. Dick Award

“The allure of a better world combined with the deterioration of human behavior in the wake of Earth’s anticipated demise is the perfect way to infuse complex moral issues and deep philosophical questions in a fast-paced adventure that will keep readers compulsively turning pages to see what will happen next . . . Educators will welcome the opportunities the book presents for deep thinking. VERDICT: Order multiple copies of this must-have for fans of Rick Yancey’s The Fifth Wave and Neal Shusterman’s Unwind.” —School Library Journal

Winner of the 2015 PEN New England Susan P. Bloom Children’s Book Discovery Award.

Featured by Barnes & Noble as one of the top 13 YA science fiction of 2016. MORE . . .

“From the first chapter, I was hooked. The protagonist was easy to relate to, and the problems she faced had me wondering what I would do in her circumstance. The writing style was interesting and descriptive. ... After sharing the book with family members, I plan to reread it while eagerly awaiting the sequel." -Tracy Renee Wolfe

“Acevedo’s voice is pitch-perfect for YA, a mix of Veronica Roth and Suzanne Collins. She’s got a tremendous sense of pacing. Her story is original, cinematic, perfect for Harry Potter graduates, or Hunger Games and Divergent fans. But it’s Acevedo’s voice that bowled me over. It’s seasoned. It’s confident. And this is her first book.” —South Coast Today

“Acevedo gives the reader amazing sci-fi Easter eggs, as well as a roller-coaster of a story! Consider will have you searching for the nearest Tardis to time travel to the release date of the sequel!" —Kristine Carlson Asselin, author of Any Way You Slice

“Consider propels people through the anxious, confused, and (at times) humorous thoughts that ricochet through Alex as she struggles to face the apocalypse . . . an exciting, thought-provoking, hi-def read.” —Patricia Pronovost, bookseller at Books by the Sea

“Measured pacing, captivating relationships, and unexpected plot turns make Consider an exciting debut. And the breathtaking conclusion will leave you yearning for the second book” —The South Coast Almanac

“Step by step, we explore a drastically changed world, where we all must consider an invitation to escape the Earth's doom, and join a parallel world. I won't say more about the plot—I'll leave that to the book itself." —Judy Sheehan, playwright and author of I Woke Up Dead in the Mall

“Acevedo takes us on a wild, yet authentically human ride in this book. We care about the characters: their struggles, their fears, their hopes. This is the first in a series, and you are going to be glad that Acevedo has decided to do more of these books. And if they are even half as good as this one, you're going to want to buy them, too! Well done! —Wendy McKnight, author of It’s a Mystery, Pig-Face!

Related Title(s)
Contribute